Tragically Hip frontman Gord Downie is the Canadia

first_img Tragically Hip frontman Gord Downie is the Canadian Press Newsmaker of the Year for the second straight time. Here is a list of newsmakers over the years, as determined in the annual poll of newsrooms across the country:2017: Gord Downie, musician2016: Gord Downie, musician2015: Justin Trudeau, politician2014: Warrant Officer Patrice Vincent and Cpl. Nathan Cirillo, slain soldiers2013: Rob Ford, politician2012: Luka Rocco Magnotta, killer2011: Jack Layton, politician2010: Russell Williams, sex killer2009: Stephen Harper, politician2008: Stephen Harper, politician2007: The Mounties2006: The Canadian Soldier2005: John Gomery, Quebec judge2004: Paul Martin, politician2003: Paul Martin, politician2002: Jean Chretien, politician2001: Stockwell Day, politician2000: Pierre Trudeau, politician1999: Pierre Trudeau, politician (named Canadian Newsmaker of the 20th Century)1998: Jean Chretien, politician1997: Sheldon Kennedy, hockey player1996: Donovan Bailey, sprinter1995: Lucien Bouchard, politician1994: Jacques Parizeau, politician1993: Kim Campbell, politician1992: The Constitution1991: Brian Mulroney, politician1990: Elijah Harper, politician1989: Michael Wilson, politician1988: Ben Johnson, sprinter1987: Rick Hansen, cross-country wheelchair athlete1986: Rick Hansen, cross-country wheelchair athlete1985: Steve Fonyo, cross-country runner1984: Brian Mulroney, politician1983: Brian Mulroney, politician1982: Wayne Gretzky, hockey player1981: Terry Fox, cross-country runner1980: Terry Fox, cross-country runner1979: Joe Clark, politician1978: Pierre Trudeau, politician1977: Rene Levesque, politician1976: Rene Levesque, politician1975: Pierre Trudeau, politician1974: Pierre Trudeau, politician1973: Pierre Trudeau, politician1972: Pierre Trudeau, politician1971: Pierre Trudeau, politician1970: Pierre Trudeau, politician1969: Pierre Trudeau, politician1968: Pierre Trudeau, politician1967: Lester Pearson, politician1966: John Diefenbaker, politician1965: Lucien Rivard, drug smuggler1964: Lester Pearson, politician1963: Lester Pearson, politician1962: Real Caouette, politician1961: James Coyne, Bank of Canada governor1960: John Diefenbaker, politician1959: John Diefenbaker, Joey Smallwood, politicians1958: John Diefenbaker, politician1957: John Diefenbaker, politician1956: Lester Pearson, diplomat1955: Lester Pearson, diplomat1954: Marilyn Bell, marathon swimmer1953: Lester Pearson, diplomat1952: Lester Pearson, diplomat1951: Lester Pearson, diplomat1950: Lester Pearson, diplomat1949: Louis St. Laurent, politician1948: Mackenzie King, politician1947: Barbara Ann Scott, figure skater1946: Igor Gouzenko, Soviet embassy cipher clerk by The Canadian Press Posted Dec 19, 2017 7:16 am PDT Last Updated Dec 19, 2017 at 7:40 am PDT AddThis Sharing ButtonsShare to TwitterTwitterShare to FacebookFacebookShare to RedditRedditShare to 電子郵件Email A look at Canadian Press Newsmakers of the Yearlast_img read more